SWC Banner

Challenge Criteria

The Challenge is defined in terms of minimum requirements and additional desirable features that submissions should exhibit. The criteria for the Semantic Web Challenge 2014 are described on the Criteria page.

How to Participate

The following information must be provided:

  1. Abstract: no more than 200 words.
  2. Pitch: The submission should include a short "pitch" (approx 400 words) that describes what the application does and why it is useful. This should be written for a non-technical audience.
  3. Description: The description should show details of the system, including why the system is innovative, which features or functions the system provides, what design choices were made and what lessons were learned. The description must include an appendix of 1-2 pages summarising explicitly how participants have addressed the evaluation requirements (including mandatory and any relevant desirable criteria). Papers should not exceed eight pages (including the appendix) and must be formatted according to the same guidelines as the papers in the Research Track (see http://iswc2014.semanticweb.org/).
  4. Web access: The application should be accessible via the web. If the application is not publicly accessible, passwords should be provided. A (short) set of instructions on how to start and use the application should also be provided on the web page.
  5. Those applications that are successful in being invited to present at the conference will also be asked to write a short pitch, describing their application. This should be written for a target audience of high school students, i.e. non-experts.

Please submit the description of your system (including the appendix) via EasyChair.

Descriptions (including the appendix) will be published in the form of online proceedings on the Semantic Web Challenge website.

Important Dates

  • Friday, September 19, 2014, 23:59 CET: Submissions due.
  • Notifications of invitations to present at the Conference will be delivered by September 26, 2014.
  • October 21-23, 2014: Semantic Web Challenge takes place at ISWC 2014

Judging and Prizes

In addition to submitting a system description and working demo, all participants are required to present their systems at the posters and demos session during the first day of the ISWC conference. A jury consisting of experts from industry and academia will be appointed to judge the systems at the conference. In the first round of judging, the jury will take into consideration the descriptions submitted, the online demos, and the presentation at the conference, in order to determine an initial set of up to eight finalists. The entries will be scored by the judges and the highest scoring entries will then proceed to the second round of the competition. The split between the two tracks will be determined according to the proportion of entries in each track.

The finalists will proceed to the second round of the competition, where they will have to present their work in an open session on the second day of the conference. They will have a slot of approximately 15 minutes to present their work. The judges will be present and will evaluate the systems in more detail, according to the specific criteria detailed on the website. The judges will then meet in private to discuss the entries and to determine the winners.

  • Oct 21st. Demo of all submissions during poster session;
  • Oct 22nd. Oral Presentations of submissions invited to the second round;
  • Oct 23rd. Presentation of results at closing ceremony.

A monetary prize will be provided to the winners, along with publicity for their work. There will normally be three winners of the Open Track and one winner of the Big Data track. However, the organisers reserve the right to merge the tracks in the event of insufficient submissions in either category. The winners will be announced and prizes awarded during the Closing Ceremony of ISWC. The winners also have the chance to submit their work to a Special Issue of the Journal of Web Semantics.

Advisory Board for 2014

  • Enrico Motta (Open University), UK
  • Kerry Taylor (CSIRO), AU
  • Sweitze Roffel (Elsevier), NL
  • Hideaki Takeda (National Institute of Informatics), JP
  • Bryan Thompson (SYSTAP), US